$95.7 million approved for Kentucky tornado recovery

FRANKFORT, Ky.– FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration are providing $95.7 million in federal funds for disaster recovery following the December tornadoes.

The declaration was made nine months after the disaster struck western Kentucky. From this funding, over $15.8 million will go to housing assistance and other disaster needs, while more than $59.3 million in SBA low-interest disaster loans will be used for homeowners, renters and businesses.

Sixteen counties were designated for federal assistance under FEMA’s Individuals and Households Program: Barren, Caldwell, Christian, Fulton, Graves, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Logan, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Taylor and Warren.

In addition, under FEMA’s individual assistance:

  • More than $15.8 has been approved for individuals and households, including:
    • Nearly $11.5 million approved for Housing Assistance
    • Nearly $4.4 million approved for Other Needs Assistance, which helps to replace essential household items and other critical disaster-related needs.

In addition, FEMA says 23 counties are eligible for public assistance. These counties include Barren, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Caldwell, Christian, Fulton, Graves, Grayson, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Logan, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, Meade, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Shelby, Spencer, Taylor, Todd and Warren.

The public assistance program available will allow communities to get assistance with the cost of repair, rebuilding and emergency work, including reimbursements for debris removal, damaged roads and infrastructure.

Public assistance has 692 total projects, with 241 projects obligated, and has provided more than $20.6 million in reimbursements.