Tax deadline extended for select Kentucky counties

New deadline May 16th for qualifying zip codes

BOWLING GREEN, Ky. – April 18th is the tax deadline for many people, but this year following December’s tornado, counties across Kentucky qualify for income tax deadlines extensions

People in Barren County, Warren County, Hart County and a few others totaling 16 counties across Kentucky now have until May 16th to file their taxes. 

The federal and state governments are giving people who live in these counties an extra 30 days to file and pay their taxes. 

Bowling Green CPA Kirby & Moore says they expect this extension to help out tornado victims. 

Kirby & Moore, LLC staff accountant Dylan Pattengale said, “I think it kind of helps a lot of people feel like they don’t have to rush to get something through by April. With the number of people affected by this tornado, I think it’s very helpful, I would say.”

If you have questions, go to

States in Barren, Caldwell, Christian, Fulton, Graves, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Logan, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Taylor and Warren Counties qualify for this tax extension.