Academy Museum to honor Sophia Loren, Haile Gerima at gala

The Academy Museum of Motion Pictures is assembling a star-studded cast for its opening gala in September. Italian screen legend Sophia Loren and independent filmmaker Haile Gerima will be honored with special awards, and Tom Hanks, Annette Bening and Bob Iger will be saluted for their efforts to raise $388 million for the long gestating museum, the organization said Monday.  The gala will be held on Sept. 25 as the kick-off to a week of celebration’s leading up to the museum’s opening to the public on Sept. 30. Gala co-chairs include Ava DuVernay, Ryan Murphy and Jason Blum.