WKU Football: TE Mik’Quan Dean named to preseason watch list for John Mackey Award

Senior tight end Mik’Quan Deane has been named to the 2018 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List, the committee announced Friday morning. Deane returns as the Hilltoppers’ top receiving tight end, catching 11 passes for 143 yards and one touchdown last season.

Those numbers put Deane second among WKU tight ends in 2017 behind Deon Yelder, who was signed as an undrafted free agent by the New Orleans Saints. Deane caught at least one pass in five games, including a career-long 34-yard reception on Sept. 16 vs. Louisiana Tech. He scored his first career touchdown on a 20-yard strike in the second quarter on Oct. 14 vs. Charlotte.

In his first career start on Nov. 4 at Vanderbilt – in place of an injured Yelder – Deane racked up career-highs of five receptions and 57 yards against the SEC club.

The Hilltoppers have a storied tradition that includes the likes of Yelder, Jack Doyle (2009-12, currently plays for the Indianapolis Colts), Tyler Higbee (2013-15, currently plays for the Los Angeles Rams), Mitchell Henry (2011-14, played for the Green Bay Packers from 2015-16) and others.

Deane is 1-of-63 student-athletes to be listed, including only 1-of-4 from Conference USA.

Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient has been selected by a vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee since 2000. The 2018 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on Dec. 5, and then presented live on Dec. 6 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.