WKU Football: Special Team and All-Purpose players announced for All-Century Team

After announcing offensive and defensive representatives on Wednesday and Thursday, WKU Football completed the unveiling of the program’s All-Century team on Friday with the announcement of special teamers and one all-purpose player.

The program is celebrating the 100th season of Hilltopper Football this fall, and the All-Century team is led by co-head coaches Jimmy Feix, the program’s all-time winningest coach, and Jack Harbaugh, leader of the 2002 National Championship team and 2002 AFCA National Coach of the Year.

Joining All-Americans Forrest Lamp (OL, offense) and Virgil Livers (DB, defense), all-everything quarterback Willie Taggart earned the third and final  captain’s spot as the program’s all-purpose player. In his final two seasons on The Hill (1997-98), Taggart led the Hilltoppers in both rushing and passing. At the time, his 1,313 rushing yards were the second-most ever by a I-AA quarterback in a single season and his 3,997 rushing yards were the most ever in a career.

Over the spring and early summer, WKU invited fans to vote online and put together their own teams to count for a percentage of the overall voting totals. Simultaneously, other voting groups worked to create their own teams including members of athletic administration, W-Club Hall of Famers, and active W-Club football lettermen.

WKU will welcome back and recognize the entire team, where possible, for the home opener for the 2018 season against Maine on Sept. 8, and a number of activities for the team and fans will be announced this fall.

All-Century Team – Special Teams/All-Purpose Player

All-Purpose Player – Willie Taggart (1995-98)

Returner – Antonio Andrews (2010-13)

Returner – Joey Stockton (1994-97)

Kicker – Garrett Schwettman (2012-15)

Punter – Brian Claybourn (2001-04)