Five Hilltoppers Make C-USA Football Preseason Watch List

BOWLING GREEN, Ky. – Conference USA released its 2022 football preseason watch list Monday with five WKU players on the list.

Wide receiver Malachi Corley and lineman Rusty Staats represented the Tops on the offensive side of the ball with Juwuan Jones and Kahlef Hailassie on defense. Brayden Narveson rounded out WKU’s lineup as the program’s special teams representative.

Five student-athletes from each of the conference’s 11 member institutions are recognized as key players to watch ahead of the 2022 season. The full list can be reviewed below.

The Conference USA slate opens on Saturday, Aug. 27, and the league’s 18th Conference USA Football Championship Game is scheduled for Friday, Dec. 2.

QB       Gavin Hardison, RS Jr., UTEP
QB       Frank Harris, RS Sr., UTSA
QB       N’Kosi Perry, GS, Florida Atlantic
QB       Chris Reynolds, RS Sr., Charlotte
RB       Jermaine Brown Jr., Jr., UAB
WR      Roderic Burns, Jr., North Texas
WR      Tyrese Chambers, Sr., FIU
WR      Malachi Corley, So., WKU
WR      Grant DuBose, Jr., Charlotte
WR      Izaiah Gathings, Sr., Middle Tennessee
WR      Smoke Harris, RS Jr., Louisiana Tech
WR      Jaylin Lane, So., Middle Tennessee
WR      Bradley Rozner, RS Sr., Rice
WR      Tyrin Smith, So., UTEP
TE       Rivaldo Fairweather, So., FIU
OL       Shea Baker, RS Sr., Rice
OL       Ashton Gist, RS Sr., Charlotte
OL       Makai Hart, RS Sr., UTSA
OL       Lyndell Hudson Jr., RS Jr., FIU
OL       Elijah Klein, RS Jr., UTEP
OL       Manase Mose, Sr., North Texas
OL       Joshua Mote, RS Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL       Rusty Staats, RS Jr., WKU
OL       Kadeem Telfort, RS Sr., UAB
OL       Nick Weber, RS Sr., Florida Atlantic

DL       Praise Amaewhule, RS Jr., UTEP
DL       Evan Anderson, So., Florida Atlantic
DL       Roderick Brown, So., North Texas
DL       Ikenna Enechukwu, RS Jr., Rice
DL       Jordan Ferguson, RS Sr., Middle Tennessee
DL       Juwuan Jones, RS Sr., WKU
DL       Brandon Matterson, Sr., UTSA
DL       Fish McWilliams, RS Jr., UAB
DL       Keivie Rose, RS So., Louisiana Tech
DL       Davon Strickland, RS Jr., FIU
DL       Markees Watts, RS Sr., Charlotte
DL       Zaylin Wood, RS So., Middle Tennessee
LB        KD Davis, Sr., North Texas
LB        Tyler Grubbs, So., Louisiana Tech
DB       Kahlef Hailassie, RS Jr., WKU
DB       Mac McWilliams, RS So., UAB
DB       George Nyakwol, GS, Rice
DB       Rashad Wisdom, Sr., UTSA
DB       Teja Young, RS Jr., Florida Atlantic

K          Jacob Barnes, RS So., Louisiana Tech
K          Ethan Mooney, Sr., North Texas
K          Brayden Narveson, RS Jr., WKU
P          Lucas Dean, Sr., UTSA
P          Kyle Greenwell, Sr., UAB
P          Josh Sloan, So., UTEP
P          Kyle Ulbrich, RS Sr., Middle Tennessee
RET     Lajohntay Wester, So., Florida Atlantic
KR       Shadrick Byrd, RS So., Charlotte
KR       Lexington Joseph, Jr., FIU
PR       Sean Fresch, So., Rice