South Central Kentucky communities awarded money from excess coal severance revenue

BOWLING GREEN, Ky.- More than $15 million in excess coal severance tax revenue is being allocated to 49 counties and 122 municipalities that qualify to receive funds from the Local Government Economic Assistance Fund (LGEAF) coal severance program.

The announcement was made Monday by Kentucky Gov. Matt Bevin.

Enacted by the 2018 General Assembly, HB 200 (as amended by HB 265) directs that if actual coal severance tax revenue collected for the fiscal year exceeds the official estimate provided by the Office of the State Budget Director (OSBD), 100% of the excess revenue shall be allocated to the LGEAF coal severance program.

Here are the communities in the WNKY viewing area and the amount they will receive

Barren County: $41,111
Logan County: $44,792
Warren County: $39,364

Adairville: $425
Bowling Green: $4,244
Cave City: $608
Glasgow: $3,813
Lewisburg: $404
Park City: $145
Plum Springs: $33
Russellville: $3,477
Smiths Grove: $52
Woodburn: $26