Lexington mayor names members of racial justice commission

Lexington Mayor
Mayor Linda Gorton names Mark Swanson to fill the 3rd District seat after the unexpected death of CM Jake Gibbs during a press conference March 30, 2020. Mayor Gorton also address updates in the response to the COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic. Photo by Amy Wallot

LEXINGTON, Ky. (AP) — Lexington Mayor Linda Gorton has made 70 appointments to a new commission aimed at reducing systemic racism. The Commission for Racial Justice & Equality has five subcommittees that will begin meeting next week. Gorton appointed two co-chairs, Roszalyn Akins and Dr. Gerald Smith, who helped decide the topics it will focus on and choose the members. Gorton has given the group a 60-day deadline to make its recommendations.