Kentucky State Police to transition to regional driving tests

BOWLING GREEN, Ky. – The Kentucky State Police announced on their Facebook page that people hoping to get a state driver’s license will now have to turn to their regional offices rather than their individual counties.

This means citizens may have to drive across cities to take a driver’s test.

In support of the licensing process and the new regional models, KSP will also establish a network of regional  testing sites for all driver testing services.

The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet will establish these testing sites within their regional offices.

As of June 1, KSP will begin offering testing services at the KYTC Driver Licensing Regional Office in Somerset. At this location, testing services will be offered Monday through Friday for residents of Casey, McCreary, Pulaski, Rockcastle, and Wayne counties.
Appointments for this location will be posted beginning May 25 at 8 a.m.
Beginning June 7, KSP will begin offering regional testing services in Catlettsburg, Columbia, Jackson, Morehead, and Prestonsburg.
Catlettsburg will offer testing for Boyd, Carter, Greenup and Lawrence Counties.
Columbia will offer testing for Adair, Clinton, Cumberland, Green, Metcalfe, Monroe, Russell and Taylor Counties.
Jackson will offer testing for Breathitt, Knott, Lee, Leslie, Owsley, Perry and Wolfe counties.
Morehead will offer testing for Bath, Elliott, Fleming, Lewis, Mason, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan and Rowan counties.
Prestonsburg will offer testing for Floyd, Johnson, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, and Pike counties.
Each location will offer Monday through Friday testing services by appointments made online.
Applicants who require testing by KSP for a permit, driver license, or commercial driver license may make an appointment online by visiting and locating the schedule associated with their county of residence.