Joshua Simon represents WKU on Mackey Award Watch List

BOWLING GREEN, Ky. – WKU tight end Joshua Simon is the latest Hilltopper to be added to a college football preseason watch last after seeing his name revealed on Mackey Award Watch List Friday.

The Mackey Award is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end. The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

Simon played in just the 2021 season opener for the Tops due to a season-ending injury. In just that single game, he caught three passes for 73 yards and two touchdowns. The season before, Simon hauled in 33 receptions for 370 yards and three scores.

The Mackey Award is named after John Mackey who revolutionized the tight-end position when he entered the NFL with the Baltimore Colts in 1963. Regarded as one of the all-time greats to have ever played the tight end position, John Mackey played in the NFL for 10 years and elected to the Pro Bowl five times. During his playing days, John “Mack Truck” Mackey was known for his tremendous speed and power.  He was a three-time All-NFL Player and named to the NFL’s All Decade Team and to the league’s 50th Anniversary Squad. He also played in two NFL Championship games and two Super Bowls, including the victorious Baltimore Colts win in Super Bowl V. He utilized this platform to expand free agency rights, increase pension benefits and improve injury protection programs for all NFL players.

For John Mackey Award and watch list consideration, a player should be a “true tight end” in the style of John Mackey, play on the interior line with blocking responsibilities and possess the potential to play tight end on the professional level. The Mackey Award Selection Committee also considers other John Mackey qualities including, but not limited to, positive sportsmanship, good academic standing and leadership on and off the field. Towards the end of the regular college football season, the committee members nominate candidates for consideration and the winner is determined by committee voting.