WKU Football: Offense announced for All-Century Team

After months of voting, WKU Football began to announce its All-Century team on Wednesday in honor of the 100th season of Hilltopper Football this fall.

The team is led by co-head coaches Jimmy Feix, the program’s all-time winningest coach, and Jack Harbaugh, leader of the 2002 National Championship team and 2002 AFCA National Coach of the Year.

On Wednesday, the program announced the 12-member offensive side of the team, including the offensive captain, former All-American and the highest NFL Draft selection in school history, Forrest Lamp. The three captains were selected by virtue of their appearance on the highest percentage of ballots received. Thursday’s announcements will include the 12-member defensive side of the ball, while the special teamers and one all-purpose player will be announced on Friday.

Over the spring and early summer, WKU invited fans to vote online and put together their own teams to count for a percentage of the overall voting totals. Simultaneously, other voting groups worked to create their own teams including members of athletic administration, W-Club Hall of Famers, and active W-Club football lettermen.

The offense, to account for variances in offensive schemes used in the program from the wing t to the triple option to a wide-open spread attack, included one quarterback, five offensive linemen, two running backs, one tight end, and three wide receivers. Six members of the team played in the current FBS era of the program, two were members of WKU’s 2002 National Championship team, and four were members of the program during the Ohio Valley Conference era.

WKU will welcome back and recognize the entire team, where possible, for the home opener for the 2018 season against Maine on Sept. 8, and a number of activities for the team and fans will be announced this fall.

All-Century Team – Offense

Quarterback – Brandon Doughty (2013-15)

Running Back – Bobby Rainey (2008-11)

Running Back – Dickie Moore (1965-68)

Tight End – Jack Doyle (2009-12)

Wide Receiver – Taywan Taylor (2013-16)

Wide Receiver – Porter Williams (1970-73)

Wide Receiver – Nicholas Norris (2013-16)

Offensive Line – Forrest Lamp (2013-16)*

Offensive Line – Buster Ashley (2001-04)

Offensive Line – Chris Price (1999-02)

Offensive Line – David Carter (1973-76)

Offensive Line – Jim “Yogi” Hardin (1955-58)