Conference USA splits into two divisions for its 2020-2021 basketball season

In what has already been a topsy-turvy beginning to the 2020-2021 basketball season, the C-USA has made another significant change, as teams enter conference play.

The Conference USA board of directors voted to utilize divisional standings and to form two divisions within the conference.

The new format will include seven teams in the East division and seven teams in the West division.

As for the Hilltoppers and the Lady Tops, they find themselves in the East division with Charlotte, FIU, Florida Atlantic, Marshall, Middle Tennessee and Old Dominion.

The standings will be based on overall conference winning percentage, and at the end of the regular season there will be two divisional winners from the East and West.

For the Conference USA tournament scheduled for March 10th through the 13th in Frisco, Texas, divisional seeding and a cross-divisional bracket will be used to determine the first round pairings and match-ups.